4 Comments

Day 114: T is for Tissue

Tissue  
 
An aggregation of morphologically similar cells and associated intercellular matter acting together to perform one or more specific functions in the body. There are four basic types of tissue: muscle, nerve, epidermal, and connective.
The destruction of solid tissue resulted in a collection of pus around the wound, also known as an abscess.

There are some much more interesting and amusing definitions for tissue, most of them revolving around being used for the absorption of ejaculate, and some of them revolving around said tissues being put back in the tissue box for reuse.  This amuses my inner 13-year-old boy!

But I’m going with this definition because I have an abscess.  And its huge.  And I have to go see a breast surgeon on Thursday to figure out a) how to remove it from my breast and b) if this abscess is an indicator of more serious issues.  My gynecologist doesn’t think I have too much to worry about, but since a course of strong antibiotics didn’t make any difference, it is more serious than originally thought.

And I am staying positive and I believe that this is going to be nothing to worry about, and the surgeon will cut out the abscess and my breast will heal and life will return to normal.  But just at that, I have worries . . . this abscess is pretty big.  Am I going to have a huge dent in my boob?  Is it going to hurt a lot?  Can we use this abscess as medical justification as to why I should have a breast reduction?

I found this abscess during my regular breast self-examination.  And I know that lump wasn’t there last month.  And my last mammogram was perfectly normal.  And there is no history of breast cancer in my family.  All good indicators that this abscess will be cut out and I will once again have healthy boobs. 

So ladies . . .  when was last time you did a self-exam?  If you don’t remember doing one this month, make sure to do one the next time you hop into the shower.  And men . . . don’t be a creeper and volunteer to help perform the exam–just ask her if she remembers to do one because you love her and want her to stay healthy.  It is that important!

 

 

4 comments on “Day 114: T is for Tissue

  1. I like boobies.

  2. I think you have a cute sense of humor. Not sure where tissue came from though! I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs in April. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

