Leave a comment

New Misadventures for an Oakwood Superwoman

What’s new for 2013?  For me, the answer is two new jobs.  And I’m just crazy enough to be excited about the situation.  The best part–both jobs are freelance/independent contractor type jobs, so I’m going to be my own boss.  This will be the first time in 20+ years that I wont be collecting a regular paycheck, and its both scary and exciting.

Job #1 became official today (or will be official as soon as the state of Ohio changes my  broker).  I am the newest Realtor for Coldwell Banker Heritage Realtors, at their location across the street from Dayton Mall.  I am going to put my six-year-old Ohio real estate license to work helping sellers and buyers with residential home sales.  The people at CBHR could not be nicer, and since they are the dominant brokerage in Dayton, I am looking forward to learning from the best.  Working in the residential real estate community excites me because everyone should be well taken care of when they are dealing with one of the largest transactions of their life.  My real estate experience and natural tendency to mother everyone should serve me well in this endeavor.

Job #2 is developing my own company, TREe Enterprises, where I will be working as a Freelance Commercial Writer.  So what does that mean?  I will be working primarily with other businesses, writing content for brochures, websites, newsletters, business letters, form letters, and social media.  Is there a market for this?  You better believe it.  There are a ton of businesses (think small and medium size businesses) that are great at their business, but don’t communicate well with clients.  These businesses can’t afford to hire a full-time copywriter, so they pay me to get only the services they need, when they need them.  In turn, I provide these companies with the words to make their communication match their quality of work.  And I can do this for anyone–I’m not limited to Ohio locations.

In my spare time, I’ll be parenting, pinning and working on a novel and some other creative writing.  My best bet for 2013–buy coffee futures and Starbucks stock!  Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

